Belsonic 2012: TWO DOOR CINEMA CLUB, NOAH & THE WHALE, Oberhofer & Cast of Cheers - Custom House Square
Thursday 23rd August 2012 18:00

Version:1.0 StartHTML:0000000167 EndHTML:0000002877 StartFragment:0000000484 EndFragment:0000002861

Not since Snow Patrol can Northern Ireland boast a bigger success story in music than Two Door Cinema Club. Natives of Bangor town, this indie-rock three piece released their hugely successful debut LP “Tourist History” on French imprint Kitsune Maison in 2010, and have gone on to build huge fanbases in every corner of the globe. The Choice Music Prize winning LP spawned hit singles “Something Good Can Work”, “What You Know” and “I Can Talk”.


The band are currently touring the UK, headlining the highly prestigious NME Awards Tour, while work is underway on their eagerly anticipated sophomore LP release. They return to Belfast to headline their biggest Irish show to date at Belsonic in Custom House Square, Thursday August 23rd.


Two Door Cinema Club will be joined by English indie-folk stars Noah and the Whale, who broke onto the scene in 2008 with their debut single “Five Years Time” from the acclaimed LP “Peaceful, The World Lays Me Down”. However, it wasn't until the release of 2011's “Last Night On Earth” that they experienced large scale mainstream success, with singles “L.I.F.E.G.O.E.S.O.N.” and “Tonight's The Kind Of Night” garnering huge popular support.


Thursday August 23rd: Two Door Cinema Club + Noah And The Whale, Oberhofer & The Cast Of Cheers



Artists » Two Door Cinema Club

Two Door Cinema Club is a Bangor and Donaghadee, Northern Ireland, UK, electropop / alternative band, formed 2007, consisting of Alex Trimble (vocals, guitar), Kevin Baird (bass, vocals), Sam Halliday (guitar, vocals) and, live only, Benjamin Thompson (drums). Their début EP was Four Words to Stand On (Mar 2008, self-release) and album Tourist History (Mar 2010, Kitsuné). Their latest is single "Handshake" (May 2013, Kitsuné).

The band's name resulted from Halliday's mispronunciation of the local cinema's name, Tudor Cinema.

In December 2009, they were featured in the BBC's Sound Of 2010 Poll (of 165 British 'taste-makers').

Tourist History was preceded by Kitsuné singles "Something Good Can Work" (Apr 2009), "I Can Talk" / "I Can Talk Remixes" (Nov 2009) and "Undercover Martyn" (Feb 2010). After the album, EPs: Something Good Can Work (Remixes) (May 2010, Cooperative) and Come Back Home (Jul 2010, Kitsuné) - then, single "What You Know" (Feb 2011, Kitsuné).

Beacon (Sept, Kitsuné), was their second album, led by singe "Sleep Alone" (Aug 2012, Glassnote).

Sites: Facebook and MySpace. Read more on User-contributed text is available under the Creative Commons By-SA License; additional terms may apply.

Top Tracks:

  1. What You Know
  2. Something Good Can Work
  3. Undercover Martyn
  4. I Can Talk
  5. Cigarettes in the Theatre
  6. Come Back Home
  7. This Is the Life
  8. Eat That Up, It's Good for You
  9. Do You Want It All?
  10. You're Not Stubborn

Top Albums:

  1. Tourist History
  2. Beacon
  3. Kitsuné Maison Compilation 7
  4. Tourist History [Promo]
  5. Changing of the Seasons
  6. Sleep Alone
  7. Beacon (Deluxe Version)
  8. Something Good Can Work
  10. I Can Talk

Artists » Noah and the Wale

Noah and the Whale were an English alternative/folk group formed in Twickenham, London in 2006. Their final line-up consisted of Charlie Fink (vocals, guitar), Tom Hobden (fiddle, keyboards), Matt "Urby Whale" Owens (bass), Fred Abbott (keyboards, guitar) and Matthew Petulla (drums). Former members of the band include Doug Fink (drums), Laura Marling (vocals, guitar) and Jack Hamson (drums). According to Songfacts, the band's name is a combination of the title of one of their favorite films, The Squid and the Whale and Noah Baumbach, who directed the movie.

They released their debut album Peaceful, The World Lays Me Down - which contains the UK Top 10 hit 5 Years Time - in August of 2008.

A year later, following the end of a relationship between Charlie Fink and Laura Marling, the band released The First Days Of Spring, a concept album written about Laura. It came with a film to accompany the album, written and directed by Charlie.

The band's third album Last Night on Earth was released in March 2011. This album produced a hit single with L.I.F.E.G.O.E.S.O.N., which sold over 242,000 copies in the UK that year.

In 2013 their fourth album, Heart of Nowhere, was released. This release was also accompanied by a short film of the same name.

The band announced their split on 1 April 2015, stating that the band members would pursue solo musical projects. Read more on User-contributed text is available under the Creative Commons By-SA License; additional terms may apply.

Top Tracks:

  1. 5 Years Time
  2. L.I.F.E.G.O.E.S.O.N.
  3. 2 Atoms In A Molecule
  4. Blue Skies
  5. The First Days Of Spring
  6. Shape of My Heart
  7. Give A Little Love
  8. Jocasta
  9. I Have Nothing
  10. Life Is Life

Top Albums:

  1. Peaceful, The World Lays Me Down
  2. The First Days Of Spring
  3. Last Night On Earth
  4. 5 Years Time
  5. L.I.F.E.G.O.E.S.O.N.
  6. Heart Of Nowhere
  7. 5 Years Time (eSingle)
  8. Peaceful The World Lays Me Down
  9. Spring Break 2011
  10. Five Years Time/Jocasta